BABERGH DISTRICT COUNCIL

From: Head of Corporate Organisation	Report Number: P4
To: Council	Date of Meeting: 22 April 2014

POLITICAL BALANCE AND COMPOSITION OF COMMITTEES AND JOINT COMMITTEES

1. **Purpose of Report**

Under the provisions of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, a Local Authority is under a duty to review the allocation of seats to Political Groups at every annual meeting or as soon as practicable after that meeting. In addition, the composition of Committees must be approved at Annual Council each year.

2. **Recommendations**

- 2.1 That the Committees' size and numerical allocation of seats be approved as detailed in Appendix 1 to this report.
- 2.2 That the ungrouped member Mr C W Arthey be appointed to serve on the Strategy Committee.
- 2.3 That Committee seats be allocated as set out in Appendix 2 to this report.

3. **Financial Implications**

3.1 None.

4. Risk Management

4.1 This report is most closely linked with the Council's Significant Business Risk No. 1 – Political and Managerial Leadership. Key risks are set out below.

Risk Description	Likelihood	Impact	Mitigation Measures		
Members not appointed and Committee not quorate	Very low	Critical	Discussions already held with Group Leaders		

5. **Consultations**

5.1 Consultations have been undertaken with Group Leaders.

6. Equality Analysis

6.1 Not relevant to this report.

7. Shared Service/Partnership Implications

7.1 There are no shared service implications.

8. Key Information

- 8.1 Under the provisions of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 where a local authority is grouped for Committee composition purposes, the Authority is required to make arrangements to ensure that its Committees share the same political balance as the full Council.
- 8.2 A separate report on the composition of the Babergh and Mid Suffolk Joint Standards Board appears elsewhere on the agenda.
- 8.3 The first step, therefore, is for the Council to approve the numerical allocation of Committee seats, and the calculation in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 is shown in Appendix 1 to this report. The calculation provides for 53 Committee seats to the various groups as follows:-

Conservative	-	22 seats
Liberal Democrat	-	15 seats
Independent	-	11 seats
Labour	-	4 seats
Others	-	1 seat

- 8.4 Members of the Regulatory Committee automatically serve on the Licensing Act 2003 Committee.
- 8.5 Members of the Joint Scrutiny Committee automatically serve on the Babergh Scrutiny Committee.
- 8.6 Members of the Joint Audit and Standards Committee automatically serve on the Babergh Audit Committee.
- 8.7 The attached calculations will need to be revisited as a result of the by-election for the vacant seat at South Cosford.

9. Appendices

Title	Location
Appendix 1 – size of Committee and numerical allocation	Attached
Appendix 2 – composition of Committees	Attached

10. Background Documents

None.

Authorship:

Name: Steve Ellwood Job Title: Corporate Manager - Governance Tel: 01473 825876 Email: <u>steve.ellwood@babergh.gov.uk</u>

APPENDIX 1

COMMITTEES	NO. OF SEATS	INDEPE (9 MEN		CONSER (17 MEM		LIB/D (12 MEN		LABO (3 MEM		OTH (1 MEN	
STRATEGY	10	(2.14)	1	(4.05)	4	(2.86)	3	(0.71)	1	(0.24)	1
JOINT SCRUTINY	8	(1.71)	2	(3.24)	3	(2.28)	2	(0.58)	1	(0.19)	0
JOINT AUDIT AND STANDARDS	8	(1.71)	2	(3.24)	4	(2.28)	2	(0.58)	0	(0.19)	0
PLANNING	14	(3.00)	3	(5.67)	6	(3.99)	4	(0.99)	1	(0.33)	0
REGULATORY	10	(2.14)	2	(4.05)	4	(2.86)	3	(0.71)	1	(0.24)	0
JOINT APPOINTMENTS	3	(0.64)	1	(1.21)	1	(0.86)	1	(0.21)	0	(0.07)	0
TOTAL TARGET	53	(11.35)	11	(21.45)	22	(15.14)	15	(3.78)	4	(1.26)	1

NOTE: ONE vacancy at present for South Cosford

COMPOSITION OF COMMITTEES

STRATEGY COMMITTEE (10)

C W Arthey	J R B Cave
S R Barrett	A J Hinton
A C Bavington	J A Jenkins
N A Bennett	A K Pollard
S Carpendale	S M Wigglesworth

JOINT SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (8)

J Antill	N MacMaster
B D Hurren	M Newman
F R Lawrenson	A M Norman
J A B Long	D L Wood

JOINT AUDIT AND STANDARDS COMMITTEE (8)

P D Burgoyne	C A Roberts
D M Busby	D C Rose
J R Cartlidge	L H Young
B Riley	(1 vacancy)

PLANNING COMMITTEE (14)

A F D W Osborne
J M Owen
N A Ridley
D C Rose
R C Smith
R W Thake
A J Ward

REGULATORY COMMITTEE (10)

B Riley
J R A Sayers
R C Smith
A J Ward
L H Young

JOINT APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE (3)

S Carpendale J A Jenkins

S M Wigglesworth

H:\DOCS\Committee\REPORTS\COUNCIL\2014\220414-PoliticalBalanceandComposition.docx