BABERGH DISTRICT COUNCIL

From: Head of Corporate Organisation	Report Number:	P27
To: Council	Date of Meeting:	24 June 2014

POLITICAL BALANCE AND COMPOSITION OF COMMITTEES AND JOINT COMMITTEES

1. **Purpose of Report**

In accordance with the provisions of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Council at its meeting on 22 April 2014 agreed to the sizes and numerical allocation of seats to the various groups and ungrouped Member and to the composition of Committees.

2. **Recommendations**

- 2.1 That the Committees' size and numerical allocation of seats be approved as detailed in Appendix 1 to this report.
- 2.2 That Committee seats be allocated as set out in Appendix 2 to this report.

3. **Financial Implications**

3.1 None.

4. **Risk Management**

4.1 This report is most closely linked with the Council's Significant Business Risk No. 1 – Political and Managerial Leadership. Key risks are set out below.

Risk Description	Likelihood	Impact	Mitigation Measures
Members not appointed and Committee not quorate	Very low	Critical	Discussions already held with Group Leaders

5. Consultations

5.1 Consultations have been undertaken with Group Leaders and discussions held with the two Members of the new Cosford Group.

6. Equality Analysis

6.1 Not relevant to this report.

7. Shared Service/Partnership Implications

7.1 There are no shared service implications.

8. Key Information

- 8.1 Under the provisions of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 where a local authority is grouped for Committee composition purposes, the Authority is required to make arrangements to ensure that its Committees share the same political balance as the full Council.
- 8.2 Following the resignation of Dawn Kendall (Conservative) as the Member of South Cosford, a by-election was held and Robert Lindsay (Green) was elected.
- 8.3 Robert Lindsay and Clive Arthey have given notice that they intend to group as the Cosford Group. The number of seats allocated to each group on the Council has therefore been recalculated
- 8.4 The first step, therefore, is for the Council to approve the numerical allocation of Committee seats, and the calculation in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 is shown in Appendix 1 to this report. The calculation provides for 53 Committee seats to the various groups as follows:-

Conservative	-	21 seats
Liberal Democrat	-	15 seats
Independent	-	11 seats
Labour	-	4 seats
Cosford	-	2 seats

9. Appendices

Title	Location
Appendix 1 – size of Committee and numerical allocation	Attached
Appendix 2 – composition of Committees	Attached

10. Background Documents

None.

Authorship:

Name: Steve Ellwood Job Title: Corporate Manager - Governance Tel: 01473 825876 Email: <u>steve.ellwood@babergh.gov.uk</u>

COMMITTEES	NO. OF SEATS	INDEPE (9 MEN	NDENT IBERS)		RVATIVE MBERS)	LIB/ (12 MEN	DEM MBERS)	LAB (3 MEM			FORD IBERS)
STRATEGY	10	(2.09)	1	(3.93)	4	(2.79)	3	(0.70)	1	(0.47)	1
JOINT SCRUTINY	8	(1.67)	2	(3.16)	3	(2.23)	2	(0.56)	1	(0.37)	0
JOINT AUDIT AND STANDARDS	8	(1.67)	2	(3.16)	3	(2.23)	2	(0.56)	0	(0.37)	1
PLANNING	14	(2.93)	3	(5.53)	6	(3.91)	4	(0.98)	1	(0.65)	0
REGULATORY	10	(2.09)	2	(3.93)	4	(2.79)	3	(0.70)	1	(0.47)	0
JOINT APPOINTMENTS	3	(0.63)	1	(1.19)	1	(0.84)	1	(0.21)	0	(0.14)	0
TOTAL TARGET	53	(11.08)	11	(20.90)	21	(14.79)	15	(3.71)	4	(2.47)	2

COMPOSITION OF COMMITTEES

STRATEGY COMMITTEE (10)

Clive Arthey	Richard Cave
Simon Barrett	John Hinton
Tony Bavington	Jennie Jenkins
Nigel Bennett	Kathy Pollard
Sue Carpendale	Sue Wigglesworth

JOINT SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (8)

Jenny Antill	Neil MacMaster
Peter Burgoyne	Mark Newman
Bryn Hurren	Jack Norman
James Long	David Wood

JOINT AUDIT AND STANDARDS COMMITTEE (8)

Dave Busby	Brian Riley
James Cartlidge	Tony Roberts
Frank Lawrenson	David Rose
Robert Lindsay	Len Young

PLANNING COMMITTEE (14)

Michael Bamford	Adrian Osborne
Peter Beer	Jack Owen
John Deacon	Nick Ridley
Kathryn Grandon	David Rose
Peter Jones	Ray Smith
Desmond Keane	Rex Thake
Mary Munson	Trot Ward

REGULATORY COMMITTEE (10)

Brian Riley
John Sayers
Ray Smith
Trot Ward
Len Young

JOINT APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE (3)

Sue Carpendale Jennie Jenkins Sue Wigglesworth

K:\DOCS\Committee\REPORTS\COUNCIL\2014\240614-PoliticalBalanceandComposition.doc